Feb. 26, 2020

HARRISBURG – Seeking to strengthen security and safety for students in the Commonwealth, Reps. Jonathan Fritz (Susquehanna/Wayne), Mike Peifer (Pike/Wayne) and Rosemary Brown (Monroe/Pike) announced that $53.7 million in competitive and meritorious grants will be distributed to 970 public schools across the state.

“As parents, we put our trust in our school districts to keep our children safe while they are away from the comfort and security of their homes,” said Fritz. “These grants allow for our children’s schools to enhance their building security and build upon current safety protocols to ensure that they, their teachers and other staff are well protected from harm or potential threats.”

The local school districts receiving these grants are as follows:

Monroe County
East Stroudsburg Area School District, $494,969.
Pleasant Valley School District, $45,000.
Pocono Mountain School District, $471,240.
Stroudsburg Area School District, $45,000.

Pike County
Delaware Valley School District, $45,000.
Wallenpaupack Area School District, $40,000.

Susquehanna County
Blue Ridge School District, $30,000.
Elk Lake School District, $99,073.
Forest City Regional School District, $122,535.
Montrose Area School District, $35,000.
Mountain View School District, $30,000.
Susquehanna Community School District, $30,000.
Susquehanna County Career and Technology Center, $61,323.

Wayne County
Wayne Highlands School District, $40,000.
Western Wayne School District, $35,000.

“Our children’s safety has always been a top priority,” said Brown. “It is my duty as both a mother and a legislator to stand up for student safety initiatives that will not only protect students from danger but also keep parents’ minds at ease as they put their children’s lives and their trust in their local schools. These funds will help accomplish that.”

“Schools have always been deemed a safe place in our communities,” said Peifer. “These grants allow for our schools to create an even more secure environment for our children.”

The School Safety and Security Committee awarded the School Safety and Security Grants to school districts, intermediate units, vocational-technical schools and charter schools across the state.

The 17-member committee within the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency was created as part of Act 44 of 2018, a comprehensive school safety law passed in 2018. One of its duties is to help distribute both meritorious and competitive grants.

Representative Jonathan Fritz
111th District
Representative Mike Peifer
139th District
Representative Rosemary M. Brown
189th District

Pennsylvania House of Representatives
Media Contact: Abby Krueger
RepPeifer.com | RepFritz.com | RepBrown.com